Go Back   Online Gambling Forum | Winner Gambling > Online Gambling > Problems

Reply

 

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2009, 16:45
Advanced Gambler
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 369
Thanks: 18
Thanked 41 Times in 37 Posts
Peixinho is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Junk mail

I get lots of junk mail to my email address that I only use for casinos. Obviously some casinos have passed my email address forward...

But what's really odd is that I have another email address that I only have used in three sites: Moneybookers, Betfair and 188bet. I made that in february and almost immediately started to receive Viagra commercials etc. junk mail. Moneybookers is out of the question, so either Betfair or 188bet is the guilty. I give 95% chance that it is 188bet. By the way, 188bet called me once at 4:15 am and asked if I was happy with their live-support service!!

Does anybody know how these email-spams work? I mean, do they just send mail to random generated addresses? Like tjt3ggiog(at)hotmail.com? My address contains 6 random letters. If they do that, then it could be that Betfair and 188bet are not responsible.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2009, 17:04
Gambler
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Lawless is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peixinho View Post
Does anybody know how these email-spams work? I mean, do they just send mail to random generated addresses?
Among other methods, yes. And if they are able to confirm that particular email address exists (there are various methods for this), they will target that. It is largely an automated process. 188Bet is one of the most reputable bookies, so I would doubt they give your email address to any third party.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2009, 22:06
Advanced Gambler
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 369
Thanks: 18
Thanked 41 Times in 37 Posts
Peixinho is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawless View Post
188Bet is one of the most reputable bookies, so I would doubt they give your email address to any third party.
I don't believe they would do that intentionally, just like I don't believe they knew what time is in Finland when they called me 4:15 in the morning. But accidents happen and if you are careless, then accidents happen more likely.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2009, 13:12
Gambler
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Lawless is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Well, yes, you may have a point there. These Asian bookies, such as 188bet, are fairly new to this betting market and are just storming in, so they might not have established as tight security policies as European bookies yet, for example.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2009, 12:02
Jay Jay is offline
Advanced Gambler
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 149
Thanks: 6
Thanked 38 Times in 35 Posts
Jay is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

A little bit off-topic, but some "Ron Pate" (Ron@egoldencasino.org) had sent me ~150 email today before I managed to stop his flooding... Impressive.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:14.

custom design by Themes by Design

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0